Project period: January 2021 – December 2022

Agrinnovation Fund in ASEAN
(AIF )

Fostering market driven innovations, high quality and sustainability of the agricultural value chains

AIF seeks to foster market driven innovations in the agricultural value chains while meeting quality and sustainability standards through public-private partnerships and cooperation.

Objectives

The objective of AIF is to support innovative practices and solutions to improve safety, quality and sustainability in agricultural value chains

Focus countries

Funding is available in Cambodia, Lao PDR, Myanmar and Viet Nam (CLMV)

The Fund’s Approach

Innovation and development

Supports innovations, enhance existing good technology and practices, and support resilience and climate change adaptation

Mutual cooperation

  • Projects designed together with public partners, GIZ and applicants
  • Projects implemented with support from third-party service providers
  • Requires equal matching contribution—monetary or in-kind

Benefits for all

Increase business performance, leverage private expertise and funds for public policy goals, improve livelihoods and empower youth and women in the value chain

Focus areas supported by the Fund

Production & Processing

Digital Solutions

Marketing & Market Access

Cooperation along the value chain

What are the supported value chains?

Cambodia: chili, mango, chashew and open to other crops
Lao PDR: watermelon and banana
Myanmar: coffee, chili, ginger, pomelo and mushroom
Viet Nam: mango and lychee in Son La & Bac Giang provinces

Who can apply for the Fund?

Smallholder producer organisations, processors, exporters, retailers, input and service providers in the agricultural value chains

How to apply?

Interested applicants are invited to send proposals using one of the available Idea Templates. Please send the proposal to AIF email address: agrinnovationfund@giz.de before 30 April 2021.
For further information, please read AIF Factsheet (Download)

Contact Person

Cambodia
Mr. Frank Jattke, frank.jattke@giz.de
Mr. Youssey Lak, youssey.lak@giz.de

Lao PDR
Mr. Gebhard Ott, gebhard.ott@giz.de
Ms. Duangmala Phonesavath, duangmala.phonesavath@giz.de

 

Myanmar
Ms. Astrid Faust, astrid.faust@giz.de
Ms. May Pwint Phyu, may.phyu@giz.de

Vietnam
Mr. Daniel Herrmann, daniel.herrmann@giz.de
Ms. Hoang Thi Thu Huong, huong.hoang1@giz.de

Implementing Partners

General Directorate of Agriculture, Cambodia

Department of Agriculture, Lao PDR

Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries, Myanmar

Myanmar Fruit, Flower and Vegetable producers and Exporters Association

Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, Viet Nam

Scroll to Top